My Love for Yoga and Yogurt

11 Jan

One week ago, I put an end to twiddling my thumbs, and finally created a blog of my very own! I can finally connect with bloggers who have similar interests, let my creative writing juices flow, and share how I keep a healthy lifestyle.

Unfortunately, I did not post last night because I was busy researching on how to make my blog the best healthy living blog it can be! Anyway, I hope to gain an audience and one day become a FitFluential Ambassador!

Why bananas for yoga and yogurt?

Last spring, during my last semester of undergrad, I interned at the local Health Department. When I was there, I executed the 2012 Healthy Habits Challenge, an employee wellness program that encouraged participants to stick to a resolution within reach using the SMART model.

The acronym SMART stands for:

S=specific

M= measurable

A= attainable

R=realistic

T= time-bound

goal-setting

As head of the challenge, it was important for me to have a SMART goal too! Before my freshman year of college, I was a camp counselor that was conveniently run by a gym. This meant all of us camp  counselors had free gym membership! Scoooree! This was where my fitness journey began and when I discovered yoga. In college, I went to yoga classes when time permitted. I was engaged by the beauty of the poses and the way that it made me felt. I always wanted to improve and advance. My internship was the perfect  opportunity for this. My SMART goal was to practice 15 minutes of yoga each day either in the morning or evening. Throughout this challenge, I woke up a little earlier (this was before I worked out at the crack of dawn) and practiced anywhere from 10-15 minutes, sometimes even in my nice clothes if I was pressed to get out the door. I found YouTube after YouTube and was able to put together a pretty nice collection of easy to vigorous classes. When the challenge was over, I continued to practice and I still continue today. For me, yoga puts things into perspective. I could be super aggravated, but once I’m on my mat, I can breathe. I’m also on my feet a ton and I find that Yoga helps to open up my body and release any tension that has built up in my body. In 2013, I would like to go to a yoga class once a week and experiment with different types of yoga such as Bikram and Hot.

Do you practice yoga? If so, what do you like most about the practice? What is your favorite variation of yoga?

YogaQuote

Now for the yogurt!

005

My life would be so incomplete without my daily dosage of Greek yogurt. It forever has my heart! I’m not quite sure when my love affair for Greek yogurt began, but I’m sure glad it did!

How I Eat My Greek Yogurt:

  1. As a healthy substitution for mayo (It’s delicious mixed with hummus and then paired with tuna or chicken!)
  2. In my oatmeal
  3. With a VitaMuffin
  4. With fruit on top and flaxseeds
  5. I’m always experimenting!

How do you eat your Greek yogurt?

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

