Proud moments and a Brown Bag Lunch

14 Jan

A few months ago, I suited myself up and put my brave face on as the new girl. Since then, I have gained confidence at my job, learned faces that I never thought I would learn, and have answered questions that I never thought I would be able to answer. I work at a fitness and wellness center where over 1,000 people check in to the club each day. My main responsibility is to offer the best customer service that I can. This weekend, I trained two new employees. It was a very rewarding time and I hope that they had a good training experience with me. I put myself in their shoes, slowly went through one thing at a time, stopped frequently to see if they had questions, and was patient. They did a great job! This was my first time training another and I am proud of myself to have come this far at my job.

What are some of your recent proud moments?

are-proud-quote-red-who-who-you-are-Favim.com-48390

Speaking of work, during longer work days, I’m given 15 minutes to nosh (really 11, when you subtract time to walk to and from the team room and have to go to the bathroom). No, this is not a lot of time to eat a lot of food. After trial and error, I eventually was able to put together a go to 15 11-minute meal for fuel.

In my efforts to come up with the perfect 15-minute lunch, I found out the following:

  1. It takes me way more than 15 minutes to eat a salad quickly and with food etiquette at the same time
  2. Rice with chicken or other sorts of leftovers are never enjoyable to me at lunch time. I suffer from sandwich separation when I can’t eat one for lunch. Maybe it’s the fact that every day since Kindergarten, I’ve eaten some sort of sandwich combo.
  3. Plain Greek yogurt mixed with a little mustard or hummus (or both) is delicious with lunch meat, tuna, or other forms of protein
  4. Tuna sandwiches with hummus, Greek yogurt, and other goodies definitely keep my energy levels up most and keep my stomach from growling for an extended period of time. They are definitely something I can eat within 11 minutes too.

Lindsay’s 11-Minute Brown Bag Lunch* 

001

The goods:

Two pieces of Vermont Soft 10 Grain bread

Avocado

Cheese stick (I improvised here, because I wanted to put mozzarella in the mix and this was all that we had on hand!)

Tomato

2 tablespoons of Chobani Plain non-fat Greek yogurt

1 tablespoon of Cedar’s Garden Vegetable Hummus

Spinach

1 can of Starkist Chunk Light Tuna (either in water or oil)

003

Mix together yogurt and hummus

007

Add avocado slices, mozzarella, tomato, spinach, and tuna to sandwich

I also added 2 pieces of Hershey’s dark chocolate to have on the side!

* I highly encourage you to enjoy this for more than 11 minutes if and when time permits!

What’s your go to brown bag lunch?

Enjoy your Sunday night everyone! 🙂

2 Responses to “Proud moments and a Brown Bag Lunch”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin January 14, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    loving these flavor combos, i am all about tuna and greek yogurt. I actually like to add a crunch into my tuna because I am allergic to bread. My new addiction, adding some pop chips or even plantain chips to it.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 14, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      That is an awesome idea, Alex! I’m going to have to try that. I haven’t had plantain chips since I went on a school trip to Ecuador.

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

