A Marvelous Morning Run

17 Jan

014

My run day is finally here! I came to the point where I was dreaming of running outside. I imagined the weather, the songs I would listen to, the feeling of my body flying, and the adrenaline rush I would experience. It’s a miracle I did not suffer serious heart palpitations, but I did suffer from withdrawal.  This morning as I laced up my running shoes, I felt anxious, excited, and ready to get out the door. When I took my first strides, I inhaled and exhaled the fresh air and smiled as my feet took me along for the ride.

Today’s run motivation:

253538653991602617_mU0ezbqJ_c

Mileage: about 5.3 miles

I track my runs using the Google Map Pedometer.

Time: 52 minutes

Today’s Top Five Running Jams:

  1. Blown Away by Carrie Underwood
  2. Bleeding Out by the Lone Bellow (free on iTunes this week)
  3. Mumford and Sons- Little Lion Man- Thank you Alex@therunwithin!
  4. Fergalicious by Fergie (throwback!)
  5. Walking on Sunshine- Katrina and the Waves

Stretching:

008

After my run, I did some lower body stretches, then when I came inside, I followed the YouTube stretch routine below. I can be so stubborn about not stretching at the end of a workout, even though it’s so important! I’m trying to get better at this!

Finish the run sentence

I run because… it makes me take a step back to appreciate the blessings in my life.

Blessings on my mind this morning:

My legs. I’m so thankful that I have legs to run, to walk, and to move me from place to place.

Being able to live in a beautiful county. On my runs, I feel like I can take in the scenery and appreciate it that much more. 

011

It was a gloomy morning run, but my surroundings brought me some sunshine.

Fresh air. I’m thankful to live where I can go outside and take a deep breath.

Security. I’m thankful for food, having a plan for the next two or so years of my life, and a roof over my head.

I invite you to finish the sentence: I run because… or I exercise because…

6 Responses to “A Marvelous Morning Run”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin January 17, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    Smart girl, stretching is so ideal when getting back into running. So glad you found your groove again

  2. cfanningtx January 18, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    Seeing green grass in your pictures made me jealous. I miss green 🙂 We’ve been covered in snow for weeks!

  3. Living Healthy January 24, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    I love running 🙂 Best thing i know 🙂 And mornings runs are the best! It sets me up for the day. Filled with energy, and knowing that i have worked out!! 🙂
    At the moment where i am living it is -15/-20 and loads of snow and ice, so its hard to run outside. But i am still running at the gym, though that isnt as fun or hard as outside!! So im waiting for spring/summer now!! 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 24, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      I love that feeling of energy and knowing I’ve worked out too! Spring and summer will be here before we know it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

