Wellness Wednesday Recap

17 Jan

Wellness Wednesday was on my mind all day today that I drove myself a little nuts. I started my Wellness Wednesday this morning when I revved up my metabolism with a pre-workout snack of egg whites and a banana.

Then, it was onto a strength building routine followed by a hearty oatmeal breakfast. I cannot wait to share this recipe. It’s my favorite breakfast! Thanks Mr. Quaker! πŸ™‚

My wellness visit just happened to fall on Wellness Wednesday! I’m not sure if this is cheating? Whenever I have a check-up, I always feel so good about myself afterwards. I suffer from white coat syndrome and I’m not sure why, because every time I leave the doctor’s office, I pat myself on the back for making sure I’m healthy on the inside and out!

I also practiced healthy behaviors today by adding fruits, vegetables, and grains to each meal. There are strawberries in the meal below, just hard to see!

002

Having dinner with family.

524189_667484948371_721499609_n

Making dinner plans with friends.

637-1

Making arrangements with friends to go to a hot yoga class. Can I get a whoot, whoot! You can read more about hot yoga on this Yoga Journal website link.

55309901643171339_Ndow9uIS_b

Trying my best to turn negatives into positives. For example, I was in a situation today where I could have gossiped, but rather, I stuck up for the person by saying something nice about them. It’s so easy to gossip, but I never feel good about myself later. I always feel good when I say something nice.

tumblr_mb3ms1aRol1ru1lpko1_500

Ending the day with reading and yoga. I’m currently reading Robyn Carr’s My Kind of Christmas. Yes, I miss Christmas time already!

13722810

Looking for something to do for Wellness Wednesday? It’s not too late! Try some of these yoga poses below to rest your mind before sleep. Click on any of the links below each picture for Yoga Journal’s step by step instructions for that pose.

012

Tree Pose– Yes, smiling in yoga is important! πŸ™‚

007

Wheel Pose

005

Upward Facing Dog

009

Downward Facing Dog

Find more poses here.

What healthy behaviors did you practice today?

6 Responses to “Wellness Wednesday Recap”

  1. aftertheivyleague January 17, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    I like the idea of Wellness Wednesday! And I especially love that you mentioned being positive and avoiding gossip. It’s so true! Saying something nice and keeping a positive outlook on the day can have such a great effect on your overall health.

  2. Alex @ therunwithin January 17, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    way to go on not gossiping, that is something I remember one year I tried so hard to work on. it really depends on your situation you are in whether it is easy or hard. I am not saying it is good either way but it makes it harder.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 17, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, it definitely depends on the situation! I never like when I’m pressured to answer something about someone. It makes me want to scream because I would never want something to get back to them and have them feeling lousy.

  3. practicinggrace January 17, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    Love the goals!! And I commend you for doing upward facing dog on a wood floor–owwwww πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project β„’

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

