When Mind, Breath, and Body Become One

22 Jan

Cold. So cold when you climb into the car, your shoulders stay so close to your ears for five minutes until the heat kicks in kind of cold.  Where I am from outside of Philadelphia, today was the coldest day in two years. Our morning low dropped to 19 degrees and the afternoon high only climbed another three degrees to 22.

If you’re from Alaska or the North Pole reading this, I know this sounds like a heat wave to you, please have pity on us!

Yesterday, Meghan over at After the Ivy League posted about enjoying to run in the cold in her post Ski Weekend in Maine. As much as I would rather be putting on a tank and shorts this time of year, there’s something about running in that cold that gives me a thrill.

Today’s run in the cold was special because:

003

There was a light dusting of snow still on the grass from last night’s winter bliss.

007

With no other walkers or runners in sight, I felt like a gold medalist on the trails.

005

The air was crisp and the sky blue.

004

I became conscious of my breathing, my days worries went away with each inhale and exhale, and I became one with my mind, breath, and body.

Running ❤

Do you prefer to run in warmer or colder weather? Why?

For my last few runs, I have overdressed far too much, so I put a lot of thought into what I was going to wear today. I decided on Cuddl Duds thin layer leggings and a Cuddl Duds thin layer top. So soft and cozy! Next, I put a pair of yoga pants on along with a light weight half-zip hoodie and fleece zip-up jacket. Lastly, I added a scarf, ear bags, and put on not one, but two pairs of gloves! 🙂

What do you wear to run outside in on cold winter days?

Please stay warm wherever you are!

I invite you to join me in this yoga session tonight:

10 Responses to “When Mind, Breath, and Body Become One”

  1. aftertheivyleague January 22, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    Sounds like you had a fabulous run in the cold weather, it’s kind of great right? I usually just wear workout pants, a long sleeve workout top, and my North Face jacket. Plus gloves and a headband for my ears. That works for anything in the 20’s or 30’s, but below that I think I’d need another layer maybe. Or a treadmill 🙂 It’s gotten down to the single digits for us tonight, yikes!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 23, 2013 at 7:56 am #

      It was fabulous! Yes, I was debating on the treadmill, but SO glad I ventured out into the cold air instead. Stay warm! These days are so great for tea or hot cocoa! 🙂

  2. Alex @ therunwithin January 23, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    I feel you, like i know I shouldn’t be complaining about the cold because canada is way worse but man is this weird weather for dc. I have had to run on the treadmill the past two days which is like so out of the ordinary for me

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 24, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

      Yes, it’s weird weather for PA too! That’s great you’re keeping up with your running! Hey, we both get to look forward to warmer weather next week! 🙂 Bring on the 40s!

  3. Emily January 23, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    You are brave, I haven’t made it outside for a run all week because we have been in the single digets in Pittsburgh! I am obsessed with Cuddle Duds, they are my go to base layer when I actually do make it outside 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 24, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

      Thanks Emily! Next week is going to feel like a heat wave for us. I can’t wait! They are great! I wear them under my work clothes too when it is cold!

  4. Cindy January 23, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    I love running except when it’s cold and windy…makes my ears hurt 😦 Weird but, I just can’t wear anything on my head when running.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 23, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      Thank goodness for treadmills when it is unbearable! No, I am the same way about wearing things on my head! I like the Earbags because they only attach to your ears and there is no piece going over your head.

  5. quartercenturysouthernliving January 23, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    I am so impressed that you get out and go running in the cold! We are having a beautiful week here which is one of the main reasons I am able to motivate myself to go running, so good for you, girl! That is so awesome!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 23, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      Thank you!! I hope you keep enjoying the beautiful week you are having! Happy running! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

