Penciling in a Workout- Part Two of the Food for Your Heart and Soul Series

26 Jan

One day while watching the tube, Kim Kardashian was talking about working out, probably on E!  news or something. I hope you just didn’t stop reading because I mentioned a Kardashian! During her interview, Kim said she schedules her workouts as appointments, just like she would with her doctor or hairdresser.

10924 10925

[Source]

Whenever I think of a workout now, I think of it as an appointment, doing something good for my heart and soul. This is especially helpful on days I just don’t feel like working out. Thank you, Kim!

This is how I break my weekly workout appointments down. I’ll start with tomorrow, Sunday.

Sunday: cardio- with the sun setting earlier during these winter months and getting home in the late afternoon from work, I don’t feel comfortable running in the dark. On Sundays, I do an hour on the Pilates Cardio Rebounder. It’s always good for the mind and body to mix things up though! Boredom prevention! 😉

Monday: upper and lower body strength routine – more focus on lower body

Tuesday: cardio- outside run

Wednesday: upper body strength routine

Thursday: outside run

Friday: upper and lower body strength routine

Saturday: off- I usually sneak in a yoga sesh! Off days are so important for your muscles to repair so that by your next workout, you’ll feel refreshed and ready to go!

On most days, I also practice yoga anywhere from 5 minutes to an hour. You can read more about my yoga journey in my post My Love for Yoga and Yogurt. This weekly schedule was created using the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines for Adults.

Picture1

[Source]

Author’s Notes

When I started lifting weights and body resistance exercises, I’m not going to lie, it was hard! But, I didn’t give up, I was determined! I could barely do a push-up. I guess my upper body strength was almost zip, zilch, nada! Now, when I do push-ups, I want to do more because I think of when I couldn’t even maneuver my body up and down. I even challenged a co-worker at work today to a push-up challenge because he didn’t believe I could do them. I can’t wait to prove him wrong! All in good fun of course! 😉

008

018

Click here for step by step push-up directions. Push-ups target your arms, chest, and shoulders.

My workout schedule took trial and error. I had to make arrangements to figure out what worked for me and my life. I’m still constantly making changes when things come up.

If there are days when you find yourself wishing there was more than 24 hours in a day so that you can get a workout in, always remember, a walk around the block is better than no movement at all. 🙂

How do you stay on track with your workouts?

I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend! It was a snowy one here! Last night, there was a beautiful snowfall. The snow was sparkling!

001 003

This is what a local newscaster said:

“Did you notice how the snow seems to sparkle tonight? Thank the bitter cold. Because temps are so low, the freezing process gives the surface of the snowflakes a flat shape with a shiny surface that reflects light. In higher temps, a snowflake has more of a fuzzy surface. The moon is nearly full, so there is plenty of light to reflect off the shiny surfaces of the snowflake. “Sparkle Snow””

Peace 🙂

6 Responses to “Penciling in a Workout- Part Two of the Food for Your Heart and Soul Series”

  1. quartercenturysouthernliving January 26, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    Good for you, girl! I am so impressed 🙂 I try to stay on track with my workouts by remembering how much better I will feel once I have accomplished my goals!!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 27, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Thank you! The power of a workout is incredible! Today I felt tired and not wanting to workout. I said to myself, okay Lindsay, just do 10 minutes and see how you feel. I ended up working out for an hour because it put me in a good mood!

  2. pickyrunner January 27, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    Woah, that chataranga is awesome!! I’m still working on the strength stuff. It’s not easy at all to stick with it! Good for you 🙂

  3. Emily January 27, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    I agree… “Scheduling” workouts is the way to go! I write them in my planner that way I can check them off once they’re completed 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 27, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      I like the idea of checking workouts off once they’re completed! Thank you for sharing this advice!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

