Paying It Forward

30 Jan

This is a follow up to my 26 Acts of Kindness challenge post from earlier this month. Jen at Peanut Butter Runner motivated me to perform an act each day rather than only my assigned number in this post.

From this challenge, I learned that an act of kindness does not need to cost a million dollars to make a difference. In the beginning, all of my ideas cost money. As a student, this is something I can not afford, no matter how much I would love to treat everyone to a coffee at my local Starbuck’s. I went back to the drawing board, and realized, an act of kindness, no matter how big or how small, is still an act of kindness, and should never EVER be judged.

smallacts

[Source]

Lessons learned:

It was invigorating and fun researching and coming up with kind acts for others to then perform. On my computer, I kept a word document to keep track of my daily deeds to honor each one of the lives lost in Newtown, CT. This served as a daily reminder to be a little nicer each day. Today marks day 25, but I think I would like to continue to day 250,000, because,Β  boy does it make you feel good!

Some of my favorites included helping a friend find an internship, cleaning up the kitchen each day before work so my parents wouldn’t be able to get to it, not complaining for a whole day- okay, I may have slipped up a couple of times!, supporting a great cause, and my favorite, leaving post-it notes on the bathroom mirror of my local grocery store.

Before a food store shopping trip one afternoon, I grabbed a post-it note and on it wrote: “You’re beautiful on the inside and out!”. As soon as I arrived at the store, I went to the women’s restroom and placed the post-it on the mirror. I hope it made others smile as well as feel or realize their beauty!

004 003

26 Acts of Kindness on Facebook

Act of Kindness ideas

The lives of those lost in the Newtown tragedy will always be in our hearts.

Did you participate in the 26 Acts of Kindness or in a random act of kindness? What did you learn from that action?

Thank you for all you do each and every day!

quote_ct

[Source]

14 Responses to “Paying It Forward”

  1. quartercenturysouthernliving January 30, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    This is so amazing of you, and is such a tribute to those in Newtown. It is so true that every act of kindness counts. What an incredible gift to pass on to others πŸ™‚

  2. Karey at Nutty About Health January 30, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    I think it’s great that you’re participating in the acts of kindness. I’ve never done anything like this, although I do try to help people out where/when I can. I know what you mean about not having a lot of money as a college student. Love the mirror note! πŸ˜‰

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 31, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks Karey! Helping people where and when you can counts big time! You never know when and where you are making a difference. Take your blog for instance! πŸ™‚

  3. moderngirlnutrition January 30, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    What a sweet thing to do! I love paying it foward, and it’s always fun to pay for the person in line behind you:)

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt January 31, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      It’s definitely always fun to pay for the person in line behind you! Hey, maybe it’ll be one of us one day!

  4. jessiebearwhat January 31, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    Love this! especially that post it note. So sweet.

  5. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen January 31, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    This is so great! When my Mom was in her 20s she would write notes on her mirror all the time to inspire her πŸ™‚

  6. Cindy February 1, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Your acts of kindness are fantastic πŸ˜€ Love this idea!

  7. nicolamadore February 2, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    For the month of December I did 25 days of Random Acts of Kindness and it was one of the best experiences i have ever had!! Some were anonymous and some were known and each one has a special place in my heart. I really think everyone should try to do one random act of kindness a month πŸ™‚

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 2, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      That is very admirable! They are definitely fun! I always think, what if every person would donate a $1 to ending cancer or to another cause. The effect would be mind-blowing if every person contributed!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project β„’

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

