A Complete Meatless Lunch and Dinner to Go

3 Feb

Going out to restaurants is one of my favorite things to do with friends and family. I’m loving seeing more and more healthy options every time I’m out, but, when it comes to when I need to have a lunch with me or buy a lunch, and I’m just by myself, I’m always using my favorite celebrity chefs lunch tote to carry a homemade breakfast, lunch, or dinner for later.

001

Rachael Ray gives the word lunch box new meaning!

After a Whole Food’s trip on Friday, I whipped up two Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy meatless meals using these two ingredients for my complete protein:

014

012

For lunch I made a let’s see how else I can incorporate this chile into a meal today chile sandwich:

007

006

The inside included kale, chile, Chobani plain non-fat Greek yogurt, avocado, tomatoes, and sunflower seeds. I used Ultimate Grain All Natural Whole Grain Heart Healthy bread.

010008

For dinner, I used both the chile and sunflower seeds again in a salad of a chopped baked potato, kale, strawberries, pineapple, raisins, tomatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, avocado, and Chobani plain non-fat Greek yogurt.

005

003

002

Other forms of meatless complete protein include: tofu, quinoa, peanut butter spread on whole wheat bread, rice and beans, seeds and beans (as in this post), and hummus and pita bread.

What’s your favorite meatless complete protein?

For more on complete protein and why protein is important for the body, click here.

Be sure to check out Meatless Monday on Twitter and Facebook!

Tomorrow I’ll be sharing the Healthy Monday tip for the week of February 4th.

I hope everyone had a great weekend and enjoyed the Superbowl!

15 Responses to “A Complete Meatless Lunch and Dinner to Go”

  1. kelseyruns February 3, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    I love cottage cheese for protein! Or peanut butter, looove peanut butter!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 4, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

      Cottage cheese is great! One time, I substituted cottage cheese for cream cheese to make a Lemon cheesecake. It was so good, you would never know there was no cream cheese! It’s also great with fruit!

      I’m allergic to peanut butter, but I sure do love soy nut butter!

  2. Alex @ therunwithin February 4, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    I think it is great you pack a lunch, there are so many options now for how to make your own meatless versions of things

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 4, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

      Thank you! It’s so worth the packing when lunch time comes!

      The choices are endless and quite good too for meatless options!

  3. quartercenturysouthernliving February 4, 2013 at 4:29 am #

    I love Whole Foods and this all looks so good! We usually pack our lunches during the week, or at least try to do it most days 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 4, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      Thank you! That’s great! Brown bagging it is so the way to go. Not only does it give someone healthy options, but it sure helps someone save money too!

  4. pickyrunner February 4, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    I like your lunchbox a lot! I have to eat meat for lunch. I eat a chicken sandwich every day. Well, if I don’t I’ll eat a grilled cheese but I’m so picky my lunch options are very limited. Tonight my roommate and I are making quinoa mac and cheese though!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 4, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

      Both great sources of protein! I’m a fan of chicken and grilled cheese sandwiches!

      Woah, quinoa mac and cheese sounds like a nutritional homerun! I hope you both enjoyed! 🙂

  5. Emily February 4, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    I pack my lunch for work every day and have been looking for a new lunch box. I love yours!!!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 4, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

      That’s awesome, Emily! I love being able to relate to others who pack their lunch too!

      Rachael Ray has a great line of lunch totes!

      • Emily February 5, 2013 at 9:41 am #

        I’ll have to check ’em out! Thanks!

  6. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen February 4, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    Yum! I’d have to say anything cheesey is my favorite meatless meal. Love the lunch box!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 4, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

      Cheese makes anything and everything so much better! Okay, maybe not everything, but definitely a lot!

      Thank you!

  7. Luv What You Do February 4, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    What a cute lunch bag!
    I am a big fan of quinoa and I have started eating beans recently. I just realized that I had a completely meatless Monday without even panning for it. I want to get better about that this year for sure!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

