Healthy Snack Combinations for Your Healthy Monday and Week!

4 Feb

326388_232995160100847_1434698040_o

[Source]

This week’s Healthy Monday tip:

“February 4
Snack Smart, Snack Simple
Snacking can boost nutrients and help you eat less at mealtime, or it can add unnecessary fat, calories
and sodium; it all comes down to what you choose. When selecting a snack, stay away from
pre-packaged cookies and chips: even portion control bags are full of empty calories and additives
that will leave you feeling hungry later.
This week, swap your usual snack for fresh fruit, raw veggies, nuts, raisins, low-fat yogurt or plain
popcorn. These low-calorie alternatives will help keep you satisfied until your next meal.”

[Source]

Healthy Monday on Twitter

Healthy Monday Facebook

Throughout the day, I like to keep my metabolism humming with snacks that will keep my energy levels high. I aim for three snacks a day in between meals, a couple of hours after breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I always try to have something with healthy fats such as seeds, complex carbs such as whole grains or fruits (something with fiber), and protein to hold me over.

A few snacks I’ve been loving lately are:

002

Chobani Greek yogurt with flax seed. I like to mix in pumpkin seeds, raisins, and mini chocolate chips sometimes too!

003

A Coco Loco bar spread with I.M. Healthy SoyNut Butter heated in the microwave with a clementine.

004

A few of my favorite bars to keep with me in my bag. In the mix are Luna, Enjoy Life Coco Loco, Clif Kid Z Bar (definitely not just for kids) and Nature’s Path Organic Pumpkin-N-Spice.

007

A baggy or bowl full of popcorn with soy nuts and raisins.

008

A banana and hard-boiled egg. Have you tried bananas mashed with cinnamon? SO good! I sprinkle Truvia on top too.

Do you snack throughout the day? If so, what snacks are you loving?

Happy Healthy Monday!

18 Responses to “Healthy Snack Combinations for Your Healthy Monday and Week!”

  1. quartercenturysouthernliving February 4, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    I love Chobani, Apple Cinnamon and Raspberry especially! We’ve also been buying lots of clementines lately. They are so good!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 5, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

      I’m a fan of both of those flavors too! I especially love freezing the Raspberry flavor! It reminds me of a raspberry creamsicle!

      I don’t even want to get started on the clementine addiction in my household. Haha

  2. pickyrunner February 4, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    Z bars are my favorite! These are all some great tips! I’m beginning to realize how little packaged snacks tide me over. Hand me an apple any day!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 5, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Little packaged snacks are great. There’s so many, that it’s hard to keep track of all of the new ones coming out.

      A sliced apple with a sprinkling of cinnamon and raisins!

  3. greentea, redwine February 4, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    I LOVE larabars & luna bars. Those are my go to snacks because I can put them in my purse & gym bag.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 5, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      Same! I keep a few in my purse or gym bag, because I never know which flavor I’m going to be in the mood for when hunger strikes.

  4. jessiebear February 4, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    mmm love the snackies. yogurt is my fav, especially with pb2 and cereal!

  5. moderngirlnutrition February 4, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    Loving the looks of all these snacks! Especially those granola bars

  6. Cindy February 4, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    Great snack ideas! My go to snacks are greek yogurt and a little granola, pb on a graham cracker, apple or clementine.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 5, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

      Thank you! Yours are great too! I like the idea of putting pb on a graham cracker! In my case, I’d use soy nut butter because of my peanut allergy.

  7. Alex @ therunwithin February 5, 2013 at 2:41 am #

    I am such a snacker, my big go to is popcorn so I love seeing that skinny pop!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 5, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

      When I first saw skinny pop, I was taken back by its healthiness compared to other brands!

  8. Emily February 5, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    Great snack ideas! I am loooving popcorn lately or a banana/apple with almond butter and cinnamon mixed together. I usually have two/three snacks a day with smaller meals.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 5, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      Thank you! Popcorn is so much fun to eat and it’s such a bonus that it’s good for you too!

  9. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen February 5, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    I love peanut butter, yogurt and granola too. I started eating it several years ago and would always get weird looks. Thank goodness for the healthy living blog world 😀

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

