Breathe in on Four, Out on Four

6 Feb

When I’ve been told that I appear calm in times of stress, I’m usually feeling just the opposite on the inside. Stress comes a little bit too easy for me, so when I saw the Healthy Monday tip of the week for January 28th on Finding Peace with a Pen, I took it as a great opportunity to hone in on what causes me to fret.

images2

[Source]

January 28th happened to be my first day of Graduate school. It was an icy, cold, and dreary day. I planned on leaving my house at 3:40pm for my 4:15pm class, so I’d arrive calm, cool, and collected. Haha, sorry I just had to laugh. After working in the morning, the errands I was running took a little longer than expected.

At 3:45pm, I was running around my house like a crazy person trying to get my class materials together. I kept telling myself, even if I leave at 3:5o, I’ll be fine.

4:05pm: Arrived downtown. I was only a few blocks away from where I needed to be and oh shoot traffic was at a complete stop.

4:09pm: Okay, what the heck is going on?

4:11pm: I see police cars and a dented up car. It appears everyone is okay.

Clock-ticking

[Source]

4:17pm: Crawling with traffic.

4:23pm: Can finally make a left at the light.

4:25pm: No parking in side lot, but found a parking space in the back lot.

4: 29pm: I’m surprisingly calm as I turn the door knob to my classroom.

4:30pm: My professor just finished taking role.

I really lucked out!

When I’m late for something, I typically freak out a little. Rather, I took it as a it is what it is situation. There was absolutely nothing I could do about being late. I was proud of myself for not worrying. This was a good start to a less stressful week.

Then, as the week progressed, the Lindsay who likes to bite off more than she can chew made an appearance. I have a hard time finding balance between school, work, family, and friends, despite the fact that my planner is my BFF. I completely exhaust myself emotionally and physically. Last week, I felt like I needed to have my  Epidemiology textbook in front of me 24/7, be an all-star worker by covering for my co-workers when they asked, have the next 5 years of my life mapped out, and have an internship lined up for the summer- which I would really love  (I sent out a couple of apps today!).

56365432805814879_SvSda5pq_f

[Source]

This past Monday, when I was sitting in my class, the lecture was on the material I had been breaking my back to understand. I let out a sigh of relief. A solution to this problem would be to set aside time each day to study for my classes so I don’t drive myself up a wall and leave time during the week to meet with my professors if needed. Time for myself, with friends and family is only going to make me feel and do better!

27164abc934be000f88af0ea7b8a4acd

[Source]

A few other solutions are to say no when I really don’t want to do something, taking it one day at a time, making lists and crossing things off as they come and go.

Gosh, I don’t know what I would do without working out, yoga- which can be both a meditation practice and workout, or the support from my family and friends, all of which are my ULTIMATE stress relievers.

394780_408255705917433_112613105_n

[Source]

New can be so overwhelming. I don’t want to stress, especially while I’m in Graduate school. I shouldn’t be looking at the material as work, but rather as an activity to better myself and career.

What do you do for stress relief?

Today’s yoga:

15 Responses to “Breathe in on Four, Out on Four”

  1. Luv What You Do February 6, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Deep breathing during traffic is definitely one of my strategies too! I do yoga, sleep, read, and run to try to decrease my stress. Best of luck with your first semester!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 7, 2013 at 7:46 am #

      Works every time! Those all sound like great stress relievers!

      Thank you for your semester wishes!

  2. jessiebear February 7, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    omg I relate to this so much! I ALWAYS bite off more than I can chew! I just don’t feel satisfied if I don’t have enough to do, but I get wayyy too stressed if I take on too much. Also my planner is my bff even when my schedule is basically nonexistent haha. I just like to plan! Also I feel ya on the summer internship front. It’ll all work out for both of us!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 7, 2013 at 9:09 am #

      Thank you for your comment! It’s always nice to be able to relate to someone.

      Could you imagine life without planners?! I don’t even want to go there!

      I agree, it will all work out for the both of us. 🙂

  3. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen February 7, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    Yoga, working out, and my family/friends are the best! Thank goodness for our support network, right? 🙂

  4. Cindy February 7, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    I stress out way way too much. Being late is the worst, I just feel my blood pressure and heart rate rising. I have to remind my self to breathe and relax. A good workout and making a list always help lessen the stress.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 8, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

      Since a young age, I have always had anxiety about being late. The effects of stress are never fun or worth it!

  5. greentea, redwine February 7, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    Ahh gr

  6. greentea, redwine February 7, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

    Oh my gosh disregard my last comment [im commenting via iphone] but such a good post, just what I needed! I seriously just need to learn to breathe deeper!

  7. moderngirlnutrition February 8, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    That definitely was stressful! I need to work on not freaking out when I’m late too haha:)

  8. Alex @ therunwithin February 8, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    I totally stress out in moments like that, I hate being late especially to something so new. You handled it very well though, stress is a tough one to learn to deal with

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 8, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

      Thanks Alex! I was totally thinking of that first impression and how my professor would always remember that I was late…and then associate me as being a late person forever, even if I was 15 minutes early for every class thereafter. haha. Thank goodness she was just finishing up role call!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

