Healthy Defined

11 Feb

The World Health Organization, also known as WHO defines health as “a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity” (Preamble to the Constitution of the World Health Organization, 1948, p 100).

The definition has not been amended since 1948.

During an interview back in June, I was asked: “Lindsay, what does being healthy mean to you?”

When thinking about what to say, a million thoughts went through my head, but which one was one my possible future boss wanted to hear? Later, I realized, anything would suffice because there was no wrong answer!

My response:  Being active, exercising, engaging in social outings, eating whole foods (anything that is in its natural state- such as a banana or other fruits, vegetables) are a few of the many characteristics being healthy means to me.

132

Playing street hockey with dad 🙂

This is a question that I have yet to forget, and I don’t think I will. In my mind, I’m always adding on to what being healthy means to me- getting enough sleep, eating slower, letting go, trying not to worry as much, facing a test without anxiety, meditating, reflecting, taking a break, being kind to yourself and others, volunteering…

010

Volunteering at Cradles to Crayons last spring!

115

Ice skating with two of my bests! We’re pros.

What does being healthy mean to you?

Happy Healthy Monday!

326388_232995160100847_1434698040_o

[Source]

Healthy Monday on Twitter

Healthy Monday Facebook

Sources:

Preamble to the Constitution of the World Health Organization as adopted by the International Health Conference, New York, 19-22 June, 1946; signed on 22 July 1946 by the representatives of 61 States (Official Records of the World Health Organization, no. 2, p. 100) and entered into force on 7 April 1948.

14 Responses to “Healthy Defined”

  1. pickyrunner February 11, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    I love this! Healthy doesn’t have to mean actual exercise. Just being active in everyday life is a healthy way to approach it. I would much rather enjoy my physical activity! Oh, and I’m writing a massive research paper on that exact question for one of my classes so this is a subject I could go on for hours about 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 12, 2013 at 6:55 am #

      Thank you! Exactly- standing instead of sitting, taking the stairs instead of the elevator, parking in the furthest parking spot, etc. Best of luck with your paper!

  2. greentea, redwine February 11, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I think you hit the nail on the head! I think I am healthiest when I am eating clean, with a little indulgence, exercising for fun AND strength/endurance and am full of happiness from fam/boytoy! [& right now, I’m feeling pretty darn healthy 🙂 ]

  3. jessiebear February 12, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Whoa I love this post. I didn’t know that that hasn’t been updated since 1948. That’s insaaane!!

  4. Emily February 12, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Great post! I think being healthy, to me, is when I take care of my body and my mind. Eating clean, moving when I can, remembering to drink water & take vitamins, and balancing stress are all super important to create that balance.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 12, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you and thank you for your response! I especially like remembering to drink water. It’s amazing how much water can have an effect on energy levels!

  5. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen February 12, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    So true! Gosh it’s crazy to think what healthy is. I think that if I don’t work out several times a week, I’m unhealthy! This is a great reminder 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 12, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

      It’s amazing how many healthy behaviors can be incorporated into a day even when a workout is not included!

  6. Cindy February 12, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Being healthy to me is being active, eating well along with having a good mental health.
    BTW…I really enjoy your blog. I nominated you for the Sunshine award! You can find the details on my page 😀

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 12, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      Thank you for your response and nomination! It’s an honor to be nominated for the Sunshine award! I’m all smiles over here!

  7. quartercenturysouthernliving February 12, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Being healthy to me is being well, being in a good place physically, emotionally, in your relationships with others and with yourself!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

