My First WIAW Post

13 Feb

Thank you Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting this great What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) link up!

wiawphotobutton

The breakfast that I am about to share with you is one of my absolute favorite recipes. Growing up, I always enjoyed a bowl of Quaker Oatmeal whether it was in the morning or for an afternoon or nighttime snack.

Did you eat Instant Dinosaur Eggs, Brown Sugar flavor too?

91pazmInkcL._SL1500_

[Source]

Although Dinosaur Eggs oatmeal was great, in my teen years, I began adding in toppings of my own to Quaker’s Old Fashioned Oats, the best foundation for so much. Through trial and error, I found what I did and did not like.  The recipe below is what I’ve been making every day that I can!

At night, I add  a 1/2 cup of Old Fashioned Oats, 1 cup of 1% milk, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1 packet of Truvia, and 1/4 of a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract to a medium sized bowl. I mix these ingredients together and cook in the microwave for 2 minutes.

After taking the oatmeal out of the microwave, I mix in 1 tablespoon of Chia seeds, cover, and put into the refrigerator. Chia seeds take on a thicker, gelatinous texture when mixed with liquid. This is something I have acquired a taste for and quite enjoy!

028

In the morning, I add in about a cup of frozen wild blueberries and then, a little bit of a lot:  flax and pumpkin seeds, raisins, and mini chocolate chips. I top with a couple spoonfuls of Chobani Non-Fat Plain Greek yogurt. Enjoy cold or warm! I like to add a little bit more Truvia and cinnamon in the morning. If you try this recipe, play around with amounts to see what you like best!

 006

My mom and I go through blueberries like it’s our job!

When mixed together:

013

010

012

This oatmeal is a good source of healthy fats (from the seeds), complex carbohydrates (from the oatmeal and blueberries), and protein (from the 1% milk and Greek yogurt). It holds me over, and I always feel like I’m eating a big ol’ desert rather than something ridiculously healthy!

Lunch:

018

Sandwich: Ozery Bakery Inc. One Bun Multi Grain Whole Grain bun with Chunk light tuna mixed with Chobani non-fat Greek yogurt and Cedar’s Garden Vegetable Hummus, mozzarella cheese, avocado, spring mix lettuce, and tomato

On the side: Spring mix lettuce, carrots, Organic Everyday Value no salt added 365 Black Beans, and some fresh strawberries

Snack:

023

100% pure pumpkin mixed with Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt. Toppings include a crumbled VitaCake, pumpkin and flax seeds, and raisins.

Dinner:

026

A Wild Alaskan caught salmon burger with Annie’s Organic BBQ sauce on top.

The side includes a sweet potato with Chobani Non-Fat Plain Greek Yogurt and a spring mix salad with Organic Everyday Value no salt added 365 Black Beans, avocado, and tomato!

Today, I think I consumed a little bit too much fish and will be adding soy or other sources of protein for future days I make meatless meals!

I hope everyone is having a great day filled with good eats! 🙂

16 Responses to “My First WIAW Post”

  1. pickyrunner February 13, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Hhaha dinosaur eggs. I never had those but I’ve heard of them before. I don’t even know what’s in them! I have vitacakes sitting in my freezer that have never been eaten but I need to try them some day.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 14, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      Hahah when you first open the packet and pour into a bowl, you’ll see sugar eggs mixed in with the oatmeal. When you cook the oatmeal, the eggs “hatch” aka melt into little sugar coated dinosaurs. VitaCakes are an awesome snack. I have one almost everyday with soy nut butter…they would go great with PB too!

  2. quartercenturysouthernliving February 13, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    Will you come make my meals for me!? Just kidding. Kind of. But seriously, this all looks great 🙂

  3. Kaitlin February 14, 2013 at 3:01 am #

    Congrats on your first post!

  4. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen February 14, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    I really want to try chia seeds. I’ve heard so many great things about them and they are so healthy too. They would go great with my oats. I actually never liked oatmeal all that much as a kid but I have since learned to love them! 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 14, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      A few weeks ago, I tried them for the first time. Since then, I’ve tried them in oatmeal and yogurt. I would like to do some experimenting with them in smoothies! Let me know if you try them! I use Bob’s Red Mill Chia seeds. I love oatmeal too!

  5. Emily February 14, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Wow I forgot all about Dinosaur Eggs!!! Haha I love salads with black beans & avocado too. I usually add a little lime juice too, so easy.

    Out of curiosity (because I’m nosy!), are you doing meatless meals for a specific reason or just to switch it up?! I’m a vegetarian, so either way I’m a fan 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 14, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

      Haha…they’re a throwback for sure! Lime juice is a great idea for salads! Thanks! Lately, I’ve been eating a lot of tofu and other soy products, and fish. I find that when I’m making a meal, I’ll go for that rather than chicken, lean turkey, or beef. I still do have a turkey sandwich for lunch or chicken for dinner every now and then. I really enjoy vegetarian meals!

  6. Kelly @ Hidden Fruits and Veggies.com February 14, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    I always WANTED to like dinosaur eggs (because I LOVE dinosaurs) but never really did. I dont think I even liked oatmeal until adulthood, now I’m pretty obsessed. Yours sounds great, except for the blueberries. Blech! A blueberries place is in a muffin or pancakes 😀

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 14, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

      Haha! Hey, we could make a dinosaur egg version of our own? I’m pretty obsessed with oatmeal too! I enjoy blueberries in muffins and pancakes too!

  7. practicinggrace February 14, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    Yayy first WIAW. That breakfast looks so good, that kind of hodgepodge concoction is my favorite in the morning or for a snack. Bon appetit!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 14, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

      Thanks Grace! Hodgepodge concoctions sure do make the best breakfasts and snacks! I love experimenting!

  8. jessiebear February 14, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    welcome to WIAW! haha I totally forgot those dinosaur egg oatmeals existed!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 14, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

      Thank you, Jessie! Haha! Bringing back the Dinosaur egg oatmeal days! I only have to wonder what kinds they have for kids now- definitely nothing as cool as this!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

