“I Say Tomato, You Say Tomato”

18 Feb

Is the media confusing the public about their health? 

“Don’t drink diet soda, it causes obesity”

“Drink diet soda to lose weight”

“Eat this, not that”

“Eliminate carbohydrates and lose weight” 

 “If you eat fat, you will be fat.” 

“High fructose corn syrup is bad for your health”

“Eat less than 1,200 calories a day to lose weight”

The above drives me crazy, crazy, crazy! How is a person to know what is good for them when every day a new health trend is being thrown their way? Is it for a fast fix? What about for a person’s health in the long run? Where are reporters, family, and friends getting their information? How reputable are their sources?

Can we go back to the basics please?!

“Drink water for hydration and healthy skin”

“Everything in moderation”

“Eat carbohydrates for energy”

“Healthy Fats are fuel for your brain”

“Eat for your daily needs”

126

Is there a headline that drives you bananas?

Be well 🙂

 

326388_232995160100847_1434698040_o

[Source]

Healthy Monday on Twitter

Healthy Monday Facebook

21 Responses to ““I Say Tomato, You Say Tomato””

  1. Alex @ therunwithin February 18, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    i couldn’t agree more, health is so different for everyone. I totally believe in moderation and giving your body the fuel it needs in many different forms to survive.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      So true! Everyone is their own person 🙂 Yes, fuel in so many different forms is so important- from food to sleep!

  2. pickyrunner February 18, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    THANK YOU for posting this. This is actually exactly what I’m writing my huge research paper about this semester. The constant trends in the media connected with weight loss. Half the time they don’t make any sense!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

      Half the time they really don’t!! Have you found that one trend is more popular than another? My frustration would show too much if I had to write a paper on this topic and therefore may be a bit bias. haha

      • pickyrunner February 20, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

        I’m not really sure but I chose the topic so I definitely have a bias. I haven’t started researching anything yet, I just picked my research question this week!

  3. quartercenturysouthernliving February 18, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    Yes, I love this!! I have been thinking so much about this lately! Back to the basics for sure. Everything in moderation is so true 🙂

  4. moderngirlnutrition February 18, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    Yes agreed! It can all be so confusing! I tried to follow everything I heard and practically all I was left with to eat was spinach and almonds haha

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

      It can be confusing! Haha-I tried to follow everything too at one time and it left me hungry and my food not too tasty!

  5. jessiebear February 19, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    ahhh I could NOT agree more!! I hate those stupid headlines, especially the one about fat. I used to be terrified to eat fat because I thought it would make me fat!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

      Me too!! Now, I never go a meal without fat. Bring on the avocados, olive oil, and seeds!

  6. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen February 19, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    So true! The fad diets are so silly. I’m all for moderation and just being healthy overall. Great post!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

      Fad diets are so silly! I’m all for moderation and just being healthy too! I’ll raise a glass to that! 🙂

  7. Cindy February 19, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    Great post! Eat more, weigh less always gets me. People see “eat more” and go with it. Moderation is key 😀

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      I know! Haha- eating and working out go hand in hand for sure- if one eats more calories then they are expending, they may be in trouble if their goal is to lose weight!

  8. cleaneatingveggiegirl February 19, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

    Great post! The media does not know us on a personal level and does not know our individual needs. Therefore, I try to ignore most of what is thrown out there.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      Yes, the media does not know us on a personal level and should probably stop trying! Ignoring is a great practice- it just worries me when I hear friends or family following trends that can mess up their bodies!

  9. Court Star @ StarSystemz February 20, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    LOVE this! I swear sometimes the media is SO confusing and my heart goes out to those who are not into researching their health. Doctors are even confusing sometimes when it comes to nutrition! I just hope that one day everyone can become informed + not misguided! Love + SHINE CourtStar

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      I hope that one day everyone can become informed and not misguided too! There are so many wacky things out there!

  10. Emily February 20, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    Really great post!! I love that quote 🙂 As some who avoid it due to sensitivity, I hate that the media is now marketing gluten as a “lose weight quick” diet.

    People need to do research and make the best choice for their own body and lifestyle. Everyone is sooo different, there is no way the same rules could apply to everyone! Education is key.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 20, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, I do not like how the media is now marketing gluten as a “lose weight quick” diet either! I’m glad it gives people who are gluten sensitive more options, but I feel that people who do not have a gluten sensitivity are going a little overboard! Sometimes I feel like it’s an excuse to not eat bread even though the bread may be what their body needs! You’re so right, education is key! 🙂 Love it!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

