Running to Be

27 Feb

Sometimes before I run, it can take a lot of motivation and 1,000 excuses to get me going out the door. Then, all of a sudden when my feet hit the pavement, I say to myself, why did I think I didn’t want to run today? Why would I want to miss this feeling of flying and being one with myself?

tumblr_lt37n8nRUd1r4ecufo1_500

[Source]

My motivation comes from  other runners, because every time I see a runner,  I crave to run. Other motivation comes from feeling a sense of accomplishment, weather, or being able to get my mind off of something, or just running to be.

The other day, I experienced running in the rain. It was hands down the coolest experience to feel the rain against my face as I paced myself  mile by mile. The trails were so quiet and I could only hear my thoughts. At one point, I completely zoned out. It’s amazing how the body can keep moving when you’re not even thinking about it.

tumblr_mgf60vItCo1rl2rqvo1_500

[Source]

What motivates you to run or exercise? What was one of your best running or workout experiences?

On a side note, I have a sneaker tip for if you ever go out into the rain for a run and come home with soaking wet sneakers or if you just want to keep your sneakers smelling pretty.
Putting newspaper in sneakers when they are wet will keep them dry and smelling fresh.

001

After runs in dry weather or the gym, I like to put fabric softener sheets inside of my sneakers.

I saw both of these tips in Good Housekeeping and swear by them! I haven’t had a stinky sneaker since!

14 Responses to “Running to Be”

  1. pickyrunner February 27, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

    The first step out the door is by far the hardest. Love that pin!

  2. Cindy February 27, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    So true, you just have to get out and do it. Good sneaker tip. I’ll have to use the newspaper next time.

  3. Jess @ JessieBear What Will You Wear? February 28, 2013 at 8:36 am #

    Oh MAN I need to do that for my sneakers!! hahaha. & that sounds SO peaceful running in the rain

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt March 1, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

      The newspaper and fabric softener sheets definitely work! It was peaceful running in the rain! It was right up there with reading in bed while it’s raining!

  4. moderngirlnutrition February 28, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    Love all the motivation!:)

  5. quartercenturysouthernliving February 28, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    What a great and inspiring post on why you run! I run for the feeling of accomplishment it provides 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt March 1, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, I run for the feeling of accomplishment it provides too! It’s like winning a marathon after finishing a run!

  6. Alex @ therunwithin February 28, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    I have never heard of the fabric softeners in sneaks, kind of smart though.

  7. Emily February 28, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    Great sneaker tips! I’ll have to try them.

    Getting out the door is always the hardest part! I just like to remind myself that I will better and strong afterwards….usually does the trick.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt March 1, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      Thanks Emily! I like reminding myself that I will be better and strong afterwards too! I never feel good about missing a run, and remind myself of that too!

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

