Thursday Tidbits

7 Mar

1. Fat and muscle weigh the same.

In the body, fat takes up a ton more room than muscle would dream, but, five pounds of muscle is five pounds of muscle, and five pounds of fat is five pounds of fat. Although it’s healthy to have more muscle, a little fat is needed to keep the body insulated!

fat-vs-muscle

5lb of fat and 5lb of muscle [Source]

2. The importance of taking a break.

When things are going 90mph, breaks are a savior! The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention CDC says, “Short breaks can help increase your concentration, alertness, and work speed.”Β  I know that I wouldn’t be able to function without a little me time! To refresh, I like to take a quick bath, read a book, or rest for 15 minutes or so, whatever time permits. Right now the book A Will & A Way is taking me away.

9781459273382_p0_v1_s260x420

[Source]

What do you like to do when you take a break? What book are you currently reading?

3. Rice is always more fun dressed up.

001

In the mix: brown rice, chickpeas, carrots, peas, avocado, strawberries, and Bolthouse FarmsΒ  Creamy Honey Mustard Vinergerette Yogurt Dressing. Has anyone else tried any of the Bolthouse Farm Yogurt Dressings? They’re all so so good.

4. A throwback for Throwback Thursday

me and cole hamel (2)

Meeting Cole Hamels before my senior year of high school!

A beautiful sunset to end the day

002

 

003The colors were gorgeous and made me look forward to all of the summer sunsets that are to come!

Sources:

Five Minutes or Less for Health Weekly Tip: Take a Break. (2012, May 21). Retrieved March 7, 2013, from Centers for Disease Control and Prevention : http://www.cdc.gov/family/minutes/tips/takeabreak/index.htm

12 Responses to “Thursday Tidbits”

  1. pickyrunner March 7, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    The muscle weighs more than fat image is a great one to keep in mind. I need to remind myself to take a break much more often than I do.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt March 8, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      The muscle weighs more than fat is quite the visual. It’s really interesting to see in person and really makes people turn their heads…just like it did for me and still does! A countdown to spring break must begin! I hope you get to relax lots!! πŸ™‚

  2. Cindy March 7, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

    What a beautiful sky, I can’t wait to see some of that here πŸ™‚

  3. aftertheivyleague March 8, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    I agree that it’s super important to take a break and unwind, I love to read every night before going to sleep. Helps me shut off my mind and relax. I’m currently reading Game of Thrones, and a few different magazines πŸ™‚

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt March 8, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

      It feels so good when a book has the power to shut off the mind! Game of Thrones definitely sounds like a book that can do that!

  4. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen March 8, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    Love this post. I like your thoughts on taking a break- all very true. Also, that fat versus muscle picture is crazy. I feel like it would be the perfect thing to hang up somewhere near desserts or something but it would be too gross to actually look at that often! Have a good weekend!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt March 8, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

      Thank you! I still am taken back when I look at the fat versus muscle picture. It would be good to hang up near desserts…every once and awhile! Every day after dinner it can be taken down for dessert time or something hah Have a good weekend too! πŸ™‚

  5. beautyinstrengthxox March 9, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Love the addition of strawberries in the rice bowl! So often we don’t think to combine sweet and savory. πŸ™‚

  6. Court Star @ StarSystemz March 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    What a beautiful sunset! Talk about taking a break…I would love to take a break + stare at that beautiful VIEW! Great post πŸ™‚ LOVE + Shine CourtStar

  7. Luv What You Do March 17, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    Those sunsets are amazing! You know how I love to watch a colorful sky and decorate my blog with those photos!

  8. Nikki May 14, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I am noticing your absence- hope everything is OK! Hope to see you blogging again soon. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blueberry Smiles

A California Girl's Healthy Life Adventures

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

Pickyrunner

I may eat like a 4-year old, but I don't run like one

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

Running on Pumpkin

Running through life fueled by pumpkin

The Better Man Project β„’

a journey into the depths

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Intuitively Wise Well-Being

Listen to your body and discover your unique needs.

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Nicole Chamberlin

Lifestyle blogger with a passion for fitness

