Five Places I Want to Be in Five Years

22 Feb

1. Working at a company where I can show my true colors and shine. No, I don’t know where I’d like to work, but, I’m learning to to take it day by day to see where life takes me. I just hope it’s somewhere that loves fruits, veggies, and working out.  ;). A 9-5 Monday-Friday gig would be nice too!

 DSC01461

Proud “real-person” moment: teaching Public Health to Boy Scout troops

2. A  regular at a yoga studio where I practice or am learning to be a teacher.

yoga_mat_1

[Source]

3. Being able to hold my own. This is very important to me. I’m so proud of myself for paying for Graduate School on my own so I don’t have loans, but to pay for my own place, car, and more will be a day to pat myself on the back. I’m so thankful for the support of my family in following my goals. I’d fall to pieces without them.

061

Chris and Kristen’s Rehearsal dinner. Great memories! A special shout out to my cousin, Rose and Aunt Betty and Uncle Bob, who I know read my blog too! Love you guys!

4. A weekend adventurer. I daydream about going on yoga retreats, blend retreats, surf vacations, hiking trips, running in races, learning to paddle board, concerts, visiting my brother and sister-in-law, and far away friends.

12931_220462469224_3597458_n

Skating at Rockefeller Center would be pretty stellar too!

5. Balanced 🙂

026

Cartwheels bring me back to youth!

Each moment, day, assignment, and yoga pose will bring me closer. in the meantime, I’ll be living for today. Otherwise, things might become a little too overwhelming!

2398115

[Source]

Where is one place you’d like to be in five years?

Have the most wonderful weekend!

18 Responses to “Five Places I Want to Be in Five Years”

  1. pickyrunner February 22, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    I love all of these goals! Paddle boarding is such a fun sport and I would love to attend a blend retreat one day! That’s awesome that you’re able to pay for your own grad school- most people can’t do that! Working at a 9-5 job that has a passion for health would be my idea workplace too 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 23, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

      Thank you! Maybe I’ll be able to try Paddle boarding this summer? One day at a time, right? Paying for graduate school is a big feat! I’m fortunate that I can pick up a lot of hours at work when needed. We’ll both get our 9-5 job that has a passion for health one day! 🙂

  2. Alex @ therunwithin February 22, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more with balanced, that is what I strive for daily. It is learning process but so doable.

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 23, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

      It sure is a learning process! We’ll get there and blog about our balanced lives! 🙂

  3. moderngirlnutrition February 22, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Such a fun post! Balanced is definitely a great goal:)

  4. quartercenturysouthernliving February 23, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    I LOVE this post! My mom is training to be a yoga teacher this spring, which is such an inspiration to me 🙂 It sounds like you have really awesome goals and that you are doing all the right things in working towards them. Have a great weekend. Thanks for sharing these!!

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 23, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      Thank you! That’s so great your mom is training to be a yoga teacher! I’m so excited for her! I hope you have a great weekend too!! 🙂

  5. Jess @ JessieBearWhatWillYouWear February 23, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Love this post! Thought it was going to be about vacations you wanted to take but I like this so much better 😀

  6. Emily February 23, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Such great goals! It’s so nice being able to stop and refocus on what is important to you every once and again. Reminds you where you’ve come from and where you are going!

    I also would love to train to be a yoga teacher at some point. I have to say though, being a grown up and paying for a my house, car, student loands, etc is over rated someday 😉

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 23, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      Thanks Emily! It’s so nice being able to stop and refocus on what is important every once and again, I really never had time to do that in the past.

      With your dance background, you’d be a great yoga teacher! There’s something about yoga that makes me want to come back for more. I want to share my love of yoga with others!

  7. beingisbeautiful February 23, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    I loved this post!! balance is key, and I think you nailed it with the five places. I daydream about adventures all day long too :]

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 26, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Thank you!! Balance is key! Daydreaming never ceases to put a smile on my face! It helps the time pass too…especially when at work…when there’s not much going on of course! I love the name of your blog!! 🙂

  8. Courtney @ Star Systemz February 24, 2013 at 12:37 am #

    Great post, five years is a skip away, I swear as I get older time flies by so fast! In five years I want to be a mom, change 1,000 women’s lives, enter in a fitness competition and have a successful fitness business. Sending you tons of luck for the next 5 years of your life. love + shine Courtstar

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt February 26, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      Time does fly! Thank you for your wishes! I’m sending tons of luck right back to you!! I have to say, your goals rock! I think your changing lots of people’s lives each day, especially with your blog too! 🙂

  9. Robyn @thereallife_RD February 28, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    oh man, I so hope i’m a little more balanced in 5 years! and some weekend adventures would be awesome 🙂

    • bananasforyogaandyogurt March 1, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

      It sounds like you’re on the right track! It’s inspiring to me that at 23, you’re an RD! I think that is awesome! Hopefully we’ll be blogging about our weekend adventures soon! 🙂

Leave a comment

Beauty in Strength

Enjoying a healthy, active, & balanced lifestyle with a love for wholesome, natural foods & fitness....Strong is Beautiful.

kelsey runs

my journey to the finish line

Luv What You Do

Balancing a Busy Life with a Healthy Lifestyle

green tea, red wine

let's get physical.

The Zen Kat

Or at least a Kat trying to be Zen

Clean Eating Veggie Girl

Cooking, Dining, and Living Life as a Vegetarian Girl

quartercenturysouthernliving

just a midwestern girl trying to successfully navigate through southern life

The Better Man Project

the story of a human being unfolding

Scientifically Delicious

Where healthy living, creativity and science meet

Clean & Green Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Recipes

Churros 'n' Chai

Vegan cooking by a college student: often quirky, always delicious.

Miraphotography

[the photographic adventures of Michelle Ramey]

Bananas for Yoga and Yogurt

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.